Hello again expolorers,
Not really an Urb-Ex post today exploring a dusty abandonment but rather a summary of a trip to Mono Centre to explore the park and surrounding environs. Don't fret, we still have images to share where we've stuck our cameras into dusty abandonments, but that will have to wait until another day.
Back to Mono - just a short drive away from Orangeville was initially settled in the 1820’s. This rural community located in Dufferine county not only has history to it but breath-taking natural beauty curtesy of features of the Niagara escarpment. The post office serving Mono Cliffs was established on July 6, 1851 (closed in 1971) and the first postmaster was William Large. It is thought that Mono originates from the aboriginal name Mahnoo meaning "let it be so".
Mono Cliffs, adjacement to this hamlet is a jewel. This provincial park contains a significant section of the Niagara Escarpment, including crevice caves, an upland limestone plain, and talus slopes. The park features two prominent masses of rock, separated by erosion from the main rock body. When this occurs, the resultant feature is called an outlier. Botanists have noted that the local vegetation includes a particularly rich diversity of ferns.